The machinectl command in oci-register-machine allows local users to list running…
Priority LOW 16CWE-200Published · Updated
Key facts
- Attack vector
- Local
- Privileges required
- Low
- User interaction
- None
- Attack complexity
- Low
- Impact type
- Information disclosure
- Confidentiality · integrity · availability
- Low · None · None
- Fix status
- Will not fix Red Hat: no fix planned
Attack profile from CVSS 3.0 · NVD. Fix status from CNA and Red Hat. Impact type from CWE-200.
Summary
The machinectl command in oci-register-machine allows local users to list running containers and possibly obtain sensitive information by running that command.
Why it matters now
EPSS 0.00398 34th percentileScored 2026-11-07
Fix Will not fix Red Hat: no fix planned
SSVC decision points
Not available: CISA has not published SSVC decision points for this record.
Affected products
| Vendor | Product | Affected versions | Fixed in | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| — | — | all versions | — | No fix listed | CNA |
- — Vendor— Affected all versions Fixed in — No fix listed CNA
CPE configurations NVD · 1
| CPE | Versions | Role | Vendor |
|---|---|---|---|
| cpe:2.3:a:projectatomic:oci-register-machine:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Vulnerable | Project Atomic |
- cpe:2.3:a:projectatomic:oci-register-machine:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Vulnerable ·Project Atomic
Remediation
No fixed version listed by the sources yet.
Vendor assessments
Red Hat
Red Hat rating: Low. Red Hat's page for this CVE →
| Product | Status | Plan or fix |
|---|---|---|
| Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 | Affected | No fix planned: Will not fix |
Timeline
- 2026-10-02 Threatist record created from CVE-2016-6349
References
Sources
- CVE-2016-6349 · CVE Program
- CVE-2016-6349 · NVD
- FIRST EPSS
- CVE-2016-6349 · Red Hat security data · CC BY 4.0
This product uses the NVD API but is not endorsed or certified by the NVD. Sources and licences