Read the docs
TI-2018-09039 Aliases CVE-2018-12591GHSA-rgf5-hhmw-4j7g

Ubiquiti Networks EdgeSwitch version 1.7.3 and prior suffer from an improperly…

Priority LOW 35CWE-78Published · Updated

Key facts

Attack vector
Network
Privileges required
High
User interaction
None
Attack complexity
Low
Impact type
Code execution
Confidentiality · integrity · availability
High · High · High
Fix status
No fix listed

Attack profile from CVSS 3.0 · NVD. Fix status from CNA. Impact type from CWE-78.

Summary

Ubiquiti Networks EdgeSwitch version 1.7.3 and prior suffer from an improperly neutralized element in an OS command due to lack of protection on the admin CLI, leading to code execution and privilege escalation greater than administrators themselves are allowed. An attacker with access to an admin account could escape the restricted CLI and execute arbitrary shell instructions.

Why it matters now

EPSS 0.01832 79th percentileScored 2026-11-07
Fix No fix listed No fixed version in the sources yet

SSVC decision points

Not available: CISA has not published SSVC decision points for this record.

Affected products

VendorProductAffected versionsFixed inStatusSource
——all versions—No fix listedCNA
  • — Vendor— Affected all versions Fixed in — No fix listed CNA

CPE configurations NVD · 2

CPEVersionsRoleVendor
cpe:2.3:o:ubnt:edgeswitch_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*up to 1.7.3VulnerableUbnt
cpe:2.3:h:ubnt:edgeswitch:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:*not specified by NVDRunning onUbnt
  • cpe:2.3:o:ubnt:edgeswitch_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions up to 1.7.3 Vulnerable ·Ubnt
  • cpe:2.3:h:ubnt:edgeswitch:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·Ubnt

Remediation

No fixed version listed by the sources yet.

Timeline

  1. 2026-10-02 Threatist record created from CVE-2018-12591
  2. 2026-10-03 Alias added: GHSA-rgf5-hhmw-4j7g

References

Sources