The Coolpad Defiant device with a build fingerprint of…
Key facts
- Attack vector
- Network
- Privileges required
- None
- User interaction
- None
- Attack complexity
- Low
- Impact type
- —
- Confidentiality · integrity · availability
- High · High · High
- Fix status
- No fix listed
Attack profile from CVSS 3.0 · NVD. Fix status from CNA.
Summary
The Coolpad Defiant device with a build fingerprint of Coolpad/cp3632a/cp3632a:7.1.1/NMF26F/099480857:user/release-keys, the ZTE ZMAX Pro with a build fingerprint of ZTE/P895T20/urd:6.0.1/MMB29M/20170418.114928:user/release-keys, and the T-Mobile Revvl Plus with a build fingerprint of Coolpad/alchemy/alchemy:7.1.1/143.14.171129.3701A-TMO/buildf_nj_02-206:user/release-keys all contain a vulnerable, pre-installed Rich Communication Services (RCS) app. These devices contain an that app has a package name of com.suntek.mway.rcs.app.service (versionCode=1, versionName=RCS_sdk_M_native_20161008_01; versionCode=1, versionName=RCS_sdk_M_native_20170406_01) with an exported content provider named com.suntek.mway.rcs.app.service.provider.message.MessageProvider and a refactored version of the app with a package name of com.rcs.gsma.na.sdk (versionCode=1, versionName=RCS_SDK_20170804_01) with a content provider named com.rcs.gsma.na.provider.message.MessageProvider allow any app co-located on the device to read, write, insert, and modify the user's text messages. This is enabled by an exported content provider app component that serves as a wrapper to the official content provider that contains the user's text messages. This app cannot be disabled by the user and the attack can be performed by a zero-permission app.
Why it matters now
SSVC decision points
Not available: CISA has not published SSVC decision points for this record.
Affected products
| Vendor | Product | Affected versions | Fixed in | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| — | — | all versions | — | No fix listed | CNA |
- — Vendor— Affected all versions Fixed in — No fix listed CNA
CPE configurations NVD · 6
| CPE | Versions | Role | Vendor |
|---|---|---|---|
| cpe:2.3:o:coolpad:defiant_firmware:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Vulnerable | Coolpad |
| cpe:2.3:h:coolpad:defiant:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Running on | Coolpad |
| cpe:2.3:o:t-mobile:revvl_plus_firmware:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Vulnerable | T-mobile |
| cpe:2.3:h:t-mobile:revvl_plus:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Running on | T-mobile |
| cpe:2.3:o:t-mobile:zte_zmax_pro_firmware:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Vulnerable | T-mobile |
| cpe:2.3:h:t-mobile:zte_zmax_pro:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Running on | T-mobile |
- cpe:2.3:o:coolpad:defiant_firmware:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Vulnerable ·Coolpad
- cpe:2.3:h:coolpad:defiant:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·Coolpad
- cpe:2.3:o:t-mobile:revvl_plus_firmware:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Vulnerable ·T-mobile
- cpe:2.3:h:t-mobile:revvl_plus:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·T-mobile
- cpe:2.3:o:t-mobile:zte_zmax_pro_firmware:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Vulnerable ·T-mobile
- cpe:2.3:h:t-mobile:zte_zmax_pro:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·T-mobile
Remediation
No fixed version listed by the sources yet.
Timeline
- 2026-10-02 Threatist record created from CVE-2018-14991
- 2026-10-03 Alias added: GHSA-wgwv-h6gg-qxww
References
Sources
- CVE-2018-14991 · CVE Program
- CVE-2018-14991 · NVD
- FIRST EPSS
- GHSA-wgwv-h6gg-qxww · GitHub Advisory Database · CC BY 4.0
This product uses the NVD API but is not endorsed or certified by the NVD. Sources and licences