Read the docs
TI-2020-05634 Aliases CVE-2020-6986GHSA-jpcw-9g3f-frpr

Uncontrolled resource consumption in Omron PLC CJ Series

Priority MEDIUM 42CWE-400Published · Updated

Key facts

Attack vector
Network
Privileges required
None
User interaction
None
Attack complexity
Low
Impact type
Denial of service
Confidentiality · integrity · availability
None · None · High
Fix status
No fix listed

Attack profile from CVSS 3.1 · CISA ADP. Fix status from CNA. Impact type from CWE-400.

Summary

In all versions of Omron PLC CJ Series, an attacker can send a series of specific data packets within a short period, causing a service error on the PLC Ethernet module, which in turn causes a PLC service denied result.

Why it matters now

Exploitation None reported CISA SSVC · not in CISA KEV
EPSS 0.01592 75th percentileScored 2026-11-07
Fix No fix listed No fixed version in the sources yet

SSVC decision points

CISA ADP · SSVC 2.0.3

Exploitation
None
Automatable
Yes
Technical impact
Partial

The decision (Track, Attend, Act) also depends on your mission and well-being impact; see CISA's SSVC guide.

Affected products

VendorProductAffected versionsFixed inStatusSource
—Omron PLC CJ Seriesall versions—No fix listedCNA
  • Omron PLC CJ Series Vendor— Affected all versions Fixed in — No fix listed CNA

CPE configurations NVD · 4

CPEVersionsRoleVendor
cpe:2.3:o:omron:plc_cj1_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*all versionsVulnerableOMRON Corporation
cpe:2.3:h:omron:plc_cj1:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:*not specified by NVDRunning onOMRON Corporation
cpe:2.3:o:omron:plc_cj2_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*all versionsVulnerableOMRON Corporation
cpe:2.3:h:omron:plc_cj2:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:*not specified by NVDRunning onOMRON Corporation
  • cpe:2.3:o:omron:plc_cj1_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions all versions Vulnerable ·OMRON Corporation
  • cpe:2.3:h:omron:plc_cj1:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·OMRON Corporation
  • cpe:2.3:o:omron:plc_cj2_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions all versions Vulnerable ·OMRON Corporation
  • cpe:2.3:h:omron:plc_cj2:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·OMRON Corporation

Remediation

No fixed version listed by the sources yet.

Timeline

  1. 2026-10-02 Threatist record created from CVE-2020-6986
  2. 2026-10-03 Alias added: GHSA-jpcw-9g3f-frpr

References

Sources