Read the docs
TI-2020-07220 Aliases CVE-2020-8997GHSA-58mq-67r3-jpgf

Older generation Abbott FreeStyle Libre sensors allow remote attackers within close…

Priority LOW 39CWE-787Published · Updated

Key facts

Attack vector
Adjacent network
Privileges required
None
User interaction
None
Attack complexity
Low
Impact type
Code execution
Confidentiality · integrity · availability
High · High · High
Fix status
No fix listed

Attack profile from CVSS 3.1 · NVD. Fix status from CNA. Impact type from CWE-787 and the CVSS impact.

Summary

Older generation Abbott FreeStyle Libre sensors allow remote attackers within close proximity to enable write access to memory via a specific NFC unlock command. NOTE: The vulnerability is not present in the FreeStyle Libre 14-day in the U.S (announced in August 2018) and FreeStyle Libre 2 outside the U.S (announced in October 2018).

Why it matters now

EPSS 0.00628 50th percentileScored 2026-11-07
Fix No fix listed No fixed version in the sources yet

SSVC decision points

Not available: CISA has not published SSVC decision points for this record.

Affected products

VendorProductAffected versionsFixed inStatusSource
——all versions—No fix listedCNA
  • — Vendor— Affected all versions Fixed in — No fix listed CNA

CPE configurations NVD · 2

CPEVersionsRoleVendor
cpe:2.3:o:abbott:freestyle_libre_firmware:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:*not specified by NVDVulnerableAbbott Laboratories
cpe:2.3:h:abbott:freestyle_libre:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:*not specified by NVDRunning onAbbott Laboratories
  • cpe:2.3:o:abbott:freestyle_libre_firmware:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Vulnerable ·Abbott Laboratories
  • cpe:2.3:h:abbott:freestyle_libre:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·Abbott Laboratories

Remediation

No fixed version listed by the sources yet.

Timeline

  1. 2026-10-02 Threatist record created from CVE-2020-8997
  2. 2026-10-03 Alias added: GHSA-58mq-67r3-jpgf
  3. 2026-10-30 EPSS moved to the 50th–90th percentile

References

Sources