Patriot Viper RGB Driver 1.1 and prior exposes IOCTL and allows insufficient access…
Priority LOW 35Published · Updated
Key facts
- Attack vector
- Local
- Privileges required
- Low
- User interaction
- None
- Attack complexity
- Low
- Impact type
- —
- Confidentiality · integrity · availability
- High · High · High
- Fix status
- No fix listed
Attack profile from CVSS 3.1 · NVD. Fix status from CNA.
Summary
Patriot Viper RGB Driver 1.1 and prior exposes IOCTL and allows insufficient access control. The IOCTL Codes 0x80102050 and 0x80102054 allows a local user with low privileges to read/write 1/2/4 bytes from or to an IO port. This could be leveraged in a number of ways to ultimately run code with elevated privileges.
Why it matters now
EPSS 0.00506 43rd percentileScored 2026-11-07
Public exploit Yes 1 exploit referenceTagged by NVD
Fix No fix listed No fixed version in the sources yet
SSVC decision points
Not available: CISA has not published SSVC decision points for this record.
Affected products
| Vendor | Product | Affected versions | Fixed in | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| — | — | all versions | — | No fix listed | CNA |
- — Vendor— Affected all versions Fixed in — No fix listed CNA
CPE configurations NVD · 2
| CPE | Versions | Role | Vendor |
|---|---|---|---|
| cpe:2.3:o:patriotmemory:viper_rgb_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | up to 1.1 | Vulnerable | Patriotmemory |
| cpe:2.3:h:patriotmemory:viper_rgb:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Running on | Patriotmemory |
- cpe:2.3:o:patriotmemory:viper_rgb_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions up to 1.1 Vulnerable ·Patriotmemory
- cpe:2.3:h:patriotmemory:viper_rgb:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·Patriotmemory
Remediation
No fixed version listed by the sources yet.
Timeline
- 2026-10-02 Threatist record created from CVE-2020-9756
- 2026-10-03 Alias added: GHSA-59f5-p3f5-g79r
References
More Patriotmemory Viper Rgb Firmware vulnerabilities
- TI-2019-13580 The MsIo64.sys and MsIo32.sys drivers in Patriot Viper RGB before 1.1 allow local users… CVSS 3.1HIGH 7.1
Sources
- CVE-2020-9756 · CVE Program
- CVE-2020-9756 · NVD
- FIRST EPSS
- GHSA-59f5-p3f5-g79r · GitHub Advisory Database · CC BY 4.0
This product uses the NVD API but is not endorsed or certified by the NVD. Sources and licences