Read the docs
TI-2026-83593 Aliases CVE-2026-114199

Gitea contribution heatmap leaks private activity to public-only tokens

Priority LOW 22CWE-200Published · Updated

Key facts

Attack vector
—
Privileges required
—
User interaction
—
Attack complexity
—
Impact type
Information disclosure
Confidentiality · integrity · availability
—
Fix status
Fixed

No CVSS vector from any source. Fix status from CNA. Impact type from CWE-200.

Summary

Gitea versions from 0 before 28.3.0 compute the contribution heatmap at GET /api/v1/users/{username}/heatmap with the token owner's repository access and ignore the public-only restriction of access tokens. A holder of a user's public-only token can read contribution counts and 15-minute time buckets from that user's activity in private repositories, though repository names and contents are not disclosed. The issue is classified under CWE-200. Public-only tokens now count only activity visible to anonymous users.

Written with Claude Haiku 5.5 from the sources below · 2026-11-02

Description from the CNA

`GET /api/v1/users/{username}/heatmap` computed the contribution heatmap with the repository access of the token owner and ignored the public-only restriction of the access token, unlike the activity feed endpoints. A holder of a user's public-only token could read contribution counts and their 15-minute time buckets that stem from that user's activity in private repositories. Repository names and contents were not disclosed. For public-only tokens the heatmap now only counts activity visible to anonymous users.

Why it matters now

EPSS 0.00244 15th percentileScored 2026-11-07
Fix Fixed Gitea (Gitea): 28.3.0

SSVC decision points

Not available: CISA has not published SSVC decision points for this record.

Affected products

VendorProductAffected versionsFixed inStatusSource
GiteaGiteabefore 28.3.028.3.0Patch availableCNA
  • Gitea VendorGitea Affected before 28.3.0 Fixed in 28.3.0 Patch available CNA

CPE names Threatist (inferred) · 1

Inferred from how NVD named this product before; not given by a source.

CPEVersionsRoleVendor
cpe:2.3:a:gitea:gitea:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*——Gitea
  • cpe:2.3:a:gitea:gitea:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions — — ·Gitea

Remediation

Upgrade Gitea to version 28.3.0 or later, which fixes this issue. Red Hat lists one product as not affected.

Written with Claude Haiku 5.5 from the sources below · 2026-11-02

  • Fix · CNA Gitea (Gitea) Fixed in 28.3.0

Fixed in the same release

Records fixed by the same vendor advisory or release, as the CNA lists them.

  • Release ·

    Gitea 28.3.0

    20 records Highest priority Priority MEDIUM 3 MEDIUM, 17 LOW

    Other records, highest priority first

    • TI-2026-83610 Gitea OAuth2 auto-linking lets attackers take over accountsPriority MEDIUM 49
    • TI-2026-83601 Gitea public-only token can expose private OCI blobs through package mountsPriority MEDIUM 47
    • TI-2026-83594 Gitea public-only token bypass exposes private repository jobsPriority MEDIUM 47

Vendor assessments

Red Hat

Red Hat's page for this CVE →

Not affected: 1 product
  • Red Hat

Timeline

  1. 2026-11-01 Threatist record created from CVE-2026-114199
  2. 2026-11-02 Affected versions changed · Red Hat
  3. 2026-11-02 CVSS score added · Red Hat

References

  • TI-2026-42785 Gitea before 1.27.1 allows remote code execution via the diffpatch API through Git hook installation. KEVCVSS 3.1CRITICAL 9.8
  • TI-2026-42033 Improper authorization on OAuth sign-in callback silently re-enables administrator-disabled accounts CVSS 3.1CRITICAL 9.8
  • TI-2026-40842 Privilege Escalation via Access Token Scope Escalation in API CVSS 3.1CRITICAL 9.8
  • TI-2026-16922 Gitea Docker image trusts spoofable reverse-proxy headers by default CVSS 3.1CRITICAL 9.8
  • TI-2026-42043 Team-repository linking endpoint bypasses the RepoAdminChangeTeamAccess organization setting CVSS 3.1CRITICAL 9.1
  • TI-2026-40381 OIDC userinfo Endpoint Returns Identity Claims Without Enforcing API Token Scopes CVSS 3.1CRITICAL 9.1
See all 240 →

Sources