Abbott Laboratories pacemakers manufactured prior to Aug 28, 2017 do not restrict or…
Key facts
- Attack vector
- Adjacent network
- Privileges required
- None
- User interaction
- None
- Attack complexity
- Low
- Impact type
- —
- Confidentiality · integrity · availability
- None · None · High
- Fix status
- No fix listed
Attack profile from CVSS 3.0 · NVD. Fix status from CNA.
Summary
Abbott Laboratories pacemakers manufactured prior to Aug 28, 2017 do not restrict or limit the number of correctly formatted "RF wake-up" commands that can be received, which may allow a nearby attacker to repeatedly send commands to reduce pacemaker battery life. CVSS v3 base score: 5.3, CVSS vector string: AV:A/AC:H/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:H. Abbott has developed a firmware update to help mitigate the identified vulnerabilities.
Why it matters now
SSVC decision points
Not available: CISA has not published SSVC decision points for this record.
Affected products
| Vendor | Product | Affected versions | Fixed in | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abbott Laboratories | Accent/Anthem, Accent MRI, Assurity/Allure, and Assurity MRI. | All versions of pacemakers manufactured prior to August 28, 2017 | — | No fix listed | CNA |
- Accent/Anthem, Accent MRI, Assurity/Allure, and Assurity MRI. VendorAbbott Laboratories Affected All versions of pacemakers manufactured prior to August 28, 2017 Fixed in — No fix listed CNA
CPE configurations NVD · 14
| CPE | Versions | Role | Vendor |
|---|---|---|---|
| cpe:2.3:o:abbott:accent_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | before f0b.0e.7e | Vulnerable | Abbott Laboratories |
| cpe:2.3:h:abbott:accent:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Running on | Abbott Laboratories |
| cpe:2.3:o:abbott:anthem_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | before f0b.0e.7e | Vulnerable | Abbott Laboratories |
| cpe:2.3:h:abbott:anthem:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Running on | Abbott Laboratories |
| cpe:2.3:o:abbott:accent_mri_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | before f10.08.6c | Vulnerable | Abbott Laboratories |
| cpe:2.3:h:abbott:accent_mri:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Running on | Abbott Laboratories |
| cpe:2.3:o:abbott:accent_st_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | before f10.08.6c | Vulnerable | Abbott Laboratories |
| cpe:2.3:h:abbott:accent_st:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Running on | Abbott Laboratories |
| cpe:2.3:o:abbott:assurity_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | before f14.07.80 | Vulnerable | Abbott Laboratories |
| cpe:2.3:h:abbott:assurity:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Running on | Abbott Laboratories |
- cpe:2.3:o:abbott:accent_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions before f0b.0e.7e Vulnerable ·Abbott Laboratories
- cpe:2.3:h:abbott:accent:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·Abbott Laboratories
- cpe:2.3:o:abbott:anthem_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions before f0b.0e.7e Vulnerable ·Abbott Laboratories
- cpe:2.3:h:abbott:anthem:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·Abbott Laboratories
- cpe:2.3:o:abbott:accent_mri_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions before f10.08.6c Vulnerable ·Abbott Laboratories
- cpe:2.3:h:abbott:accent_mri:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·Abbott Laboratories
- cpe:2.3:o:abbott:accent_st_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions before f10.08.6c Vulnerable ·Abbott Laboratories
- cpe:2.3:h:abbott:accent_st:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·Abbott Laboratories
- cpe:2.3:o:abbott:assurity_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions before f14.07.80 Vulnerable ·Abbott Laboratories
- cpe:2.3:h:abbott:assurity:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·Abbott Laboratories
Show 4 more CPE
| CPE | Versions | Role | Vendor |
|---|---|---|---|
| cpe:2.3:o:abbott:allure_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | before f14.07.80 | Vulnerable | Abbott Laboratories |
| cpe:2.3:h:abbott:allure:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Running on | Abbott Laboratories |
| cpe:2.3:o:abbott:assurity_mri_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | before f17.01.49 | Vulnerable | Abbott Laboratories |
| cpe:2.3:h:abbott:assurity_mri:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Running on | Abbott Laboratories |
- cpe:2.3:o:abbott:allure_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions before f14.07.80 Vulnerable ·Abbott Laboratories
- cpe:2.3:h:abbott:allure:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·Abbott Laboratories
- cpe:2.3:o:abbott:assurity_mri_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions before f17.01.49 Vulnerable ·Abbott Laboratories
- cpe:2.3:h:abbott:assurity_mri:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·Abbott Laboratories
Remediation
No fixed version listed by the sources yet.
Timeline
- 2026-10-02 Threatist record created from CVE-2017-12714
- 2026-10-03 Alias added: GHSA-4gwc-877g-8pxq
- 2026-10-25 EPSS moved to the 50th–90th percentile
References
More Abbott Laboratories Accent Firmware vulnerabilities
- TI-2017-09419 Improper authentication in Abbott Laboratories Accent/Anthem, Accent MRI… CVSS 3.0HIGH 8.8
- TI-2017-09422 Cleartext transmission of sensitive information in Abbott Laboratories Accent and Anthem CVSS 3.0MEDIUM 6.5
Sources
- CVE-2017-12714 · CVE Program
- CVE-2017-12714 · NVD
- FIRST EPSS
- GHSA-4gwc-877g-8pxq · GitHub Advisory Database · CC BY 4.0
This product uses the NVD API but is not endorsed or certified by the NVD. Sources and licences