Cleartext transmission of sensitive information in Abbott Laboratories Accent and Anthem
Key facts
- Attack vector
- Adjacent network
- Privileges required
- None
- User interaction
- None
- Attack complexity
- Low
- Impact type
- Information disclosure
- Confidentiality · integrity · availability
- High · None · None
- Fix status
- No fix listed
Attack profile from CVSS 3.0 · NVD. Fix status from CNA. Impact type from CWE-311.
Summary
Abbott Laboratories Accent and Anthem pacemakers manufactured prior to Aug 28, 2017 transmit unencrypted patient information via RF communications to programmers and home monitoring units. Additionally, the Accent and Anthem pacemakers store the optional patient information without encryption. CVSS v3 base score: 3.1, CVSS vector string: AV:A/AC:H/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:L/I:N/A:N. Abbott has developed a firmware update to help mitigate the identified vulnerabilities.
Why it matters now
SSVC decision points
Not available: CISA has not published SSVC decision points for this record.
Affected products
| Vendor | Product | Affected versions | Fixed in | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abbott Laboratories | Accent and Anthem | All versions of pacemakers manufactured prior to August 28, 2017 | — | No fix listed | CNA |
- Accent and Anthem VendorAbbott Laboratories Affected All versions of pacemakers manufactured prior to August 28, 2017 Fixed in — No fix listed CNA
CPE configurations NVD · 8
| CPE | Versions | Role | Vendor |
|---|---|---|---|
| cpe:2.3:o:abbott:accent_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | before f0b.0e.7e | Vulnerable | Abbott Laboratories |
| cpe:2.3:h:abbott:accent:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Running on | Abbott Laboratories |
| cpe:2.3:o:abbott:anthem_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | before f0b.0e.7e | Vulnerable | Abbott Laboratories |
| cpe:2.3:h:abbott:anthem:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Running on | Abbott Laboratories |
| cpe:2.3:o:abbott:accent_mri_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | before f10.08.6c | Vulnerable | Abbott Laboratories |
| cpe:2.3:h:abbott:accent_mri:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Running on | Abbott Laboratories |
| cpe:2.3:o:abbott:accent_st_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | before f10.08.6c | Vulnerable | Abbott Laboratories |
| cpe:2.3:h:abbott:accent_st:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Running on | Abbott Laboratories |
- cpe:2.3:o:abbott:accent_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions before f0b.0e.7e Vulnerable ·Abbott Laboratories
- cpe:2.3:h:abbott:accent:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·Abbott Laboratories
- cpe:2.3:o:abbott:anthem_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions before f0b.0e.7e Vulnerable ·Abbott Laboratories
- cpe:2.3:h:abbott:anthem:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·Abbott Laboratories
- cpe:2.3:o:abbott:accent_mri_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions before f10.08.6c Vulnerable ·Abbott Laboratories
- cpe:2.3:h:abbott:accent_mri:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·Abbott Laboratories
- cpe:2.3:o:abbott:accent_st_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions before f10.08.6c Vulnerable ·Abbott Laboratories
- cpe:2.3:h:abbott:accent_st:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·Abbott Laboratories
Remediation
No fixed version listed by the sources yet.
Timeline
- 2026-10-02 Threatist record created from CVE-2017-12716
- 2026-10-03 Alias added: GHSA-x247-46rv-347w
References
More Abbott Laboratories Accent Firmware vulnerabilities
- TI-2017-09419 Improper authentication in Abbott Laboratories Accent/Anthem, Accent MRI… CVSS 3.0HIGH 8.8
- TI-2017-09421 Abbott Laboratories pacemakers manufactured prior to Aug 28, 2017 do not restrict or… CVSS 3.0MEDIUM 6.5
Sources
- CVE-2017-12716 · CVE Program
- CVE-2017-12716 · NVD
- FIRST EPSS
- GHSA-x247-46rv-347w · GitHub Advisory Database · CC BY 4.0
This product uses the NVD API but is not endorsed or certified by the NVD. Sources and licences