Read the docs
TI-2022-13246 Aliases CVE-2022-31207GHSA-cf5x-xcv3-5jx9

The Omron SYSMAC Cx product family PLCs (CS series, CJ series, and CP series) through…

Priority MEDIUM 44CWE-347Published · Updated

Key facts

Attack vector
Network
Privileges required
None
User interaction
None
Attack complexity
Low
Impact type
Security bypass
Confidentiality · integrity · availability
High · High · High
Fix status
No fix listed

Attack profile from CVSS 3.1 · NVD. Fix status from CNA. Impact type from CWE-347.

Summary

The Omron SYSMAC Cx product family PLCs (CS series, CJ series, and CP series) through 2022-05-18 lack cryptographic authentication. They utilize the Omron FINS (9600/TCP) protocol for engineering purposes, including downloading projects and control logic to the PLC. This protocol has authentication flaws as reported in FSCT-2022-0057. Control logic is downloaded to PLC volatile memory using the FINS Program Area Read and Program Area Write commands or to non-volatile memory using other commands from where it can be loaded into volatile memory for execution. The logic that is loaded into and executed from the user program area exists in compiled object code form. Upon execution, these object codes are first passed to a dedicated ASIC that determines whether the object code is to be executed by the ASIC or the microprocessor. In the former case, the object code is interpreted by the ASIC whereas in the latter case the object code is passed to the microprocessor for object code interpretation by a ROM interpreter. In the abnormal case where the object code cannot be handled by either, an abnormal condition is triggered and the PLC is halted. The logic that is downloaded to the PLC does not seem to be cryptographically authenticated, thus allowing an attacker to manipulate transmitted object code to the PLC and either execute arbitrary object code commands on the ASIC or on the microprocessor interpreter.

Why it matters now

EPSS 0.00998 62nd percentileScored 2026-11-07
Fix No fix listed No fixed version in the sources yet

SSVC decision points

Not available: CISA has not published SSVC decision points for this record.

Affected products

VendorProductAffected versionsFixed inStatusSource
——all versions—No fix listedCNA
  • — Vendor— Affected all versions Fixed in — No fix listed CNA

CPE configurations NVD · 14

CPEVersionsRoleVendor
cpe:2.3:o:omron:sysmac_cs1_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*before 4.1VulnerableOMRON Corporation
cpe:2.3:h:omron:sysmac_cs1:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:*not specified by NVDRunning onOMRON Corporation
cpe:2.3:o:omron:sysmac_cj2m_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*before 2.1VulnerableOMRON Corporation
cpe:2.3:h:omron:sysmac_cj2m:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:*not specified by NVDRunning onOMRON Corporation
cpe:2.3:o:omron:sysmac_cj2h_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*before 1.5VulnerableOMRON Corporation
cpe:2.3:h:omron:sysmac_cj2h:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:*not specified by NVDRunning onOMRON Corporation
cpe:2.3:o:omron:sysmac_cp1e_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*before 1.30VulnerableOMRON Corporation
cpe:2.3:h:omron:sysmac_cp1e:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:*not specified by NVDRunning onOMRON Corporation
cpe:2.3:o:omron:sysmac_cp1h_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*before 1.30VulnerableOMRON Corporation
cpe:2.3:h:omron:sysmac_cp1h:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:*not specified by NVDRunning onOMRON Corporation
  • cpe:2.3:o:omron:sysmac_cs1_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions before 4.1 Vulnerable ·OMRON Corporation
  • cpe:2.3:h:omron:sysmac_cs1:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·OMRON Corporation
  • cpe:2.3:o:omron:sysmac_cj2m_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions before 2.1 Vulnerable ·OMRON Corporation
  • cpe:2.3:h:omron:sysmac_cj2m:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·OMRON Corporation
  • cpe:2.3:o:omron:sysmac_cj2h_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions before 1.5 Vulnerable ·OMRON Corporation
  • cpe:2.3:h:omron:sysmac_cj2h:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·OMRON Corporation
  • cpe:2.3:o:omron:sysmac_cp1e_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions before 1.30 Vulnerable ·OMRON Corporation
  • cpe:2.3:h:omron:sysmac_cp1e:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·OMRON Corporation
  • cpe:2.3:o:omron:sysmac_cp1h_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions before 1.30 Vulnerable ·OMRON Corporation
  • cpe:2.3:h:omron:sysmac_cp1h:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·OMRON Corporation
Show 4 more CPE
CPEVersionsRoleVendor
cpe:2.3:o:omron:sysmac_cp1l_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:*before 1.10VulnerableOMRON Corporation
cpe:2.3:h:omron:sysmac_cp1l:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:*not specified by NVDRunning onOMRON Corporation
cpe:2.3:o:omron:cp1w-cif41_firmware:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:*not specified by NVDVulnerableOMRON Corporation
cpe:2.3:h:omron:cp1w-cif41:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:*not specified by NVDRunning onOMRON Corporation
  • cpe:2.3:o:omron:sysmac_cp1l_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions before 1.10 Vulnerable ·OMRON Corporation
  • cpe:2.3:h:omron:sysmac_cp1l:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·OMRON Corporation
  • cpe:2.3:o:omron:cp1w-cif41_firmware:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Vulnerable ·OMRON Corporation
  • cpe:2.3:h:omron:cp1w-cif41:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·OMRON Corporation

Remediation

No fixed version listed by the sources yet.

Timeline

  1. 2026-10-02 Threatist record created from CVE-2022-31207
  2. 2026-10-03 Alias added: GHSA-cf5x-xcv3-5jx9

References

  • TI-2023-12128 Missing authentication in OMRON Corporation Multiple OMRON products which implement FINS… CVSS 3.1CRITICAL 9.8
  • TI-2022-13244 In Omron CS series, CJ series, and CP series PLCs through 2022-05-18, the password for… CVSS 3.1HIGH 7.5
  • TI-2022-13243 Omron CS series, CJ series, and CP series PLCs through 2022-05-18 use cleartext passwords. CVSS 3.1HIGH 7.5

Sources