mongofiles may disclose GridFS content via stored filename
Key facts
- Attack vector
- Network
- Privileges required
- Low
- User interaction
- Passive
- Attack complexity
- Low
- Attack requirements
- Present
- Impact type
- Information disclosure
- Confidentiality · integrity · availability
- High · None · None
- Fix status
- Fixed
Attack profile from CVSS 4.0 · CNA. Fix status from CNA. Impact type from CWE-73 and the CVSS impact.
Summary
MongoDB Database Tools from version 3.1.4 before 100.20.1 are affected. The mongofiles get_id command uses a filename stored in the database as its output destination when --local is not specified, which is an external control of file name or path (CWE-73). A user who can modify GridFS file metadata can set the stored filename to '-', so a later retrieval by a higher-privileged operator writes the file contents to standard output. If that output is captured in a location the attacker can access, GridFS content the attacker cannot read directly may be disclosed, and exploitation requires that operator to retrieve the file without an explicit local destination.
Written with Claude Haiku 5.5 from the sources below · 2026-11-06
Description from the CNA
MongoDB Database Tools mongofiles uses a database-stored GridFS filename as the output destination for get_id when --local is not specified. A user who can modify the file metadata can set the stored filename to '-', causing a later authorized retrieval to write the file contents to standard output instead of a local file. If standard output is captured in a location accessible to that user, this may disclose GridFS content the user cannot read directly. Exploitation requires a higher-privileged operator to retrieve the affected file without an explicit local destination and attacker access to the captured output. This issue affects MongoDB Database Tools from version 3.1.4 through versions before 100.20.1.
Why it matters now
SSVC decision points
CISA ADP · SSVC 2.0.3
- Exploitation
- None
- Automatable
- No
- Technical impact
- Partial
The decision (Track, Attend, Act) also depends on your mission and well-being impact; see CISA's SSVC guide.
Affected products
Remediation
Upgrade MongoDB Database Tools to version 100.20.1, the fixed version.
Written with Claude Haiku 5.5 from the sources below · 2026-11-06
- Fix · CNA Database Tools (MongoDB) Fixed in 100.20.1
Fixed in the same release
Records fixed by the same vendor advisory or release, as the CNA lists them.
- Release ·
MongoDB Database Tools 100.20.1
4 records Highest priority Priority LOW 4 LOW
Other records, highest priority first
- TI-2026-84398 Collection guard bypass in MongoDB Database Tools mongorestorePriority LOW 25
- TI-2026-84405 mongorestore may restore encoded collection names into an unintended collectionPriority LOW 10
- TI-2026-84397 MongoDB mongofiles symlink flaw writes files outside working directoryPriority LOW 6
Vendor assessments
Timeline
- 2026-11-03 Threatist record created from CVE-2026-119672
- 2026-11-03 CISA SSVC decision points changed
- 2026-11-03 Priority changed: MEDIUM → LOW
- 2026-11-03 Alias added: GHSA-vj7x-r9xp-w7fv
- 2026-11-06 Affected versions changed · Red Hat
- 2026-11-06 CVSS score added · Red Hat
References
More MongoDB vulnerabilities
- TI-2019-08023 Code injection in mongo-express KEVCVSS 3.1CRITICAL 9.9
- TI-2025-13542 Zlib compressed protocol header length confusion may allow memory read KEVCVSS 4.0HIGH 8.7
- TI-2026-79432 BSON output corruption via out-of-range binary subtype in MongoDB C# Driver CVSS 4.0MEDIUM 6.9
- TI-2026-79424 NoSQL command injection via mismatched BSON length in MongoDB C# Driver CVSS 4.0MEDIUM 6.9
- TI-2026-79422 Unbounded memory growth in MongoDB C# Driver BSON deserialization CVSS 4.0HIGH 8.2
- TI-2026-79427 Authentication bypass via issuer-and-serial-only certificate equality CVSS 4.0HIGH 7.6
Sources
- CVE-2026-119672 · CVE Program
- CVE-2026-119672 · NVD
- FIRST EPSS
- GHSA-vj7x-r9xp-w7fv · GitHub Advisory Database · CC BY 4.0
- CVE-2026-119672 · Red Hat security data · CC BY 4.0
This product uses the NVD API but is not endorsed or certified by the NVD. Sources and licences