Access to Bootloader
Priority HIGH 72CWE-1191Published · Updated
Key facts
- Attack vector
- Physical
- Privileges required
- None
- User interaction
- None
- Attack complexity
- Low
- Attack requirements
- None
- Impact type
- —
- Confidentiality · integrity · availability
- High · High · High
- Fix status
- No fix listed
Attack profile from CVSS 4.0 · CNA. Fix status from CNA.
Summary
Autel Maxi Charger Single firmware through V1.03.51 exposes an accessible UART interface that permits interruption of the boot process and access to the U-Boot bootloader. An attacker with physical access can modify the boot configuration or file system to obtain operating system access.
Why it matters now
Exploitation Proof of concept CISA SSVC · not in CISA KEV
EPSS 0.00241 15th percentileScored 2026-11-07
Public exploit Yes 1 exploit referenceTagged by the CNA and NVD
Fix No fix listed No fixed version in the sources yet
SSVC decision points
CISA ADP · SSVC 2.0.3
- Exploitation
- Poc
- Automatable
- No
- Technical impact
- Total
The decision (Track, Attend, Act) also depends on your mission and well-being impact; see CISA's SSVC guide.
Affected products
| Vendor | Product | Affected versions | Fixed in | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Autel | MaxiCharger Single | up to V1.03.51 | — | No fix listed | CNA |
- MaxiCharger Single VendorAutel Affected up to V1.03.51 Fixed in — No fix listed CNA
CPE configurations NVD · 3
| CPE | Versions | Role | Vendor |
|---|---|---|---|
| cpe:2.3:o:autel:maxicharger_single_charger_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:american_standard | up to 1.03.51 | Vulnerable | Autel |
| cpe:2.3:o:autel:maxicharger_single_charger_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:european_standard | up to 1.03.51 | Vulnerable | Autel |
| cpe:2.3:h:autel:maxicharger_single_charger:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Running on | Autel |
- cpe:2.3:o:autel:maxicharger_single_charger_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:american_standard Versions up to 1.03.51 Vulnerable ·Autel
- cpe:2.3:o:autel:maxicharger_single_charger_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:european_standard Versions up to 1.03.51 Vulnerable ·Autel
- cpe:2.3:h:autel:maxicharger_single_charger:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·Autel
Remediation
No fixed version listed by the sources yet.
Timeline
- 2026-10-02 Threatist record created from CVE-2026-8988
- 2026-10-03 Alias added: GHSA-qpg5-v459-hjvj
References
More Autel Maxicharger Single Charger Firmware vulnerabilities
- TI-2026-07902 Unauthenticated command injection in Autel MaxiCharger Single CVSS 4.0CRITICAL 10.0
- TI-2026-07901 Unauthenticated RCE in Autel MaxiCharger Single CVSS 4.0CRITICAL 10.0
- TI-2026-07900 Backdoor Authentication Token CVSS 4.0CRITICAL 10.0
- TI-2026-07899 Hard-coded / Backdoor Accounts CVSS 4.0CRITICAL 10.0
- TI-2026-07904 Authenticated heap overflow in Autel MaxiCharger Single CVSS 4.0CRITICAL 9.4
- TI-2026-07903 Command Injection via Malicious OCPP Server CVSS 4.0CRITICAL 9.5
Sources
- CVE-2026-8988 · CVE Program
- CVE-2026-8988 · NVD
- FIRST EPSS
- GHSA-qpg5-v459-hjvj · GitHub Advisory Database · CC BY 4.0
This product uses the NVD API but is not endorsed or certified by the NVD. Sources and licences