Open Recovery Mode
Priority HIGH 72CWE-1191Published · Updated
Key facts
- Attack vector
- Physical
- Privileges required
- None
- User interaction
- None
- Attack complexity
- Low
- Attack requirements
- None
- Impact type
- —
- Confidentiality · integrity · availability
- High · High · High
- Fix status
- No fix listed
Attack profile from CVSS 4.0 · CNA. Fix status from CNA.
Summary
Autel Maxi Charger Single firmware through V1.03.51 permits unrestricted access to the NXP i.MX6 recovery mode through exposed hardware recovery pins. An attacker with physical access can boot attacker-controlled code in memory and modify or extract firmware and other sensitive data.
Why it matters now
Exploitation Proof of concept CISA SSVC · not in CISA KEV
EPSS 0.00241 15th percentileScored 2026-11-07
Public exploit Yes 1 exploit referenceTagged by the CNA and NVD
Fix No fix listed No fixed version in the sources yet
SSVC decision points
CISA ADP · SSVC 2.0.3
- Exploitation
- Poc
- Automatable
- No
- Technical impact
- Total
The decision (Track, Attend, Act) also depends on your mission and well-being impact; see CISA's SSVC guide.
Affected products
| Vendor | Product | Affected versions | Fixed in | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Autel | MaxiCharger Single | up to V1.03.51 | — | No fix listed | CNA |
- MaxiCharger Single VendorAutel Affected up to V1.03.51 Fixed in — No fix listed CNA
CPE configurations NVD · 3
| CPE | Versions | Role | Vendor |
|---|---|---|---|
| cpe:2.3:o:autel:maxicharger_single_charger_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:american_standard | up to 1.03.51 | Vulnerable | Autel |
| cpe:2.3:o:autel:maxicharger_single_charger_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:european_standard | up to 1.03.51 | Vulnerable | Autel |
| cpe:2.3:h:autel:maxicharger_single_charger:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* | not specified by NVD | Running on | Autel |
- cpe:2.3:o:autel:maxicharger_single_charger_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:american_standard Versions up to 1.03.51 Vulnerable ·Autel
- cpe:2.3:o:autel:maxicharger_single_charger_firmware:*:*:*:*:*:*:*:european_standard Versions up to 1.03.51 Vulnerable ·Autel
- cpe:2.3:h:autel:maxicharger_single_charger:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:* Versions not specified by NVD Running on ·Autel
Remediation
No fixed version listed by the sources yet.
Timeline
- 2026-10-02 Threatist record created from CVE-2026-8989
- 2026-10-03 Alias added: GHSA-wpf3-8j9v-2qg2
References
More Autel Maxicharger Single Charger Firmware vulnerabilities
- TI-2026-07902 Unauthenticated command injection in Autel MaxiCharger Single CVSS 4.0CRITICAL 10.0
- TI-2026-07901 Unauthenticated RCE in Autel MaxiCharger Single CVSS 4.0CRITICAL 10.0
- TI-2026-07900 Backdoor Authentication Token CVSS 4.0CRITICAL 10.0
- TI-2026-07899 Hard-coded / Backdoor Accounts CVSS 4.0CRITICAL 10.0
- TI-2026-07904 Authenticated heap overflow in Autel MaxiCharger Single CVSS 4.0CRITICAL 9.4
- TI-2026-07903 Command Injection via Malicious OCPP Server CVSS 4.0CRITICAL 9.5
Sources
- CVE-2026-8989 · CVE Program
- CVE-2026-8989 · NVD
- FIRST EPSS
- GHSA-wpf3-8j9v-2qg2 · GitHub Advisory Database · CC BY 4.0
This product uses the NVD API but is not endorsed or certified by the NVD. Sources and licences